Area: 32,114 kms²
Population: 6.34 million
Capital: Barcelona

The Autonomous Region of Catalonia is located in the northeastern Iberian Peninsula, with its coast along the Mediterranean Sea. Bordering with France and Andorra to the north, and to the east with Mediterranean, its southern neighbour is Valencia, and Aragon is to the west.  Its four provinces are Barcelona, Tarragona, Lerida and Gerona.  The region’s climate is Mediterranean in the coastal areas, and continental in the interior.  Generally speaking, Catalonia enjoys moderate temperatures throughout the year.  However, to the north, there is a certain tendency towards alpine climate conditions as the altitude rises.  The Catalan coastline presents two differentiated zones.  On the one hand, there is a northern stretch dominated by steep cliffs indented with rocky coves, where the mountains hug the coast.  Further south lay the long, wide sandy beaches of the Costa Brava.   Due to its history and tradition, Catalonia is prime tourist destination with major cultural resources, in the form of a rich and attractive monumental legacy offering the visitor a wide variety of artistic options from different eras.  Moreover, Barcelona, the regional capital, has many tourist and cultural attractions, including Gaudí’s Holy Family Cathedral, the Gothic Quarter, or its more than 50 museums, including permanent collections of such artists as Picasso, Joan Miró y Antoni Tàpies. 

For more information:
Catalonia tourism website