Castilla y León

Area: 94,223 kms²
Population: 2.46 million
Capital: Valladolid

The Autonomous Region of Castilla y León is the largest in the entire European Union, and has nine provinces: León, Zamora, Salamanca, Avila, Segovia, Palencia, Burgos, Soria and Valladolid. Castilla y León is a communications hub due to its location at the geographic heart of the Iberian Peninsula, so it is criss-crossed by many of Spain’s principal highways and rail lines.  The region’s geography largely determines its climate, due to its high average altitude and mountainous rim, giving it a continental climate, having cold winters and hot summers. Castilla y León has many natural resources (including one of the Iberian Peninsula’s largest rivers, the Duero) and a wide variety of cultures, with a vast historical heritage (highlights include the cathedrals of Burgos and León, the medieval walls of Avila and Segovia’s Roman aqueduct), fine cuisine (with many typical regional dishes), excellent wines (especially those from Toro and Ribera de Duero) and a wide-ranging network of hotels, including many rural guesthouses.  Moreover, Castilla y León has three cities that have achieved the distinction of being included on the World Heritage List: Salamanca, Avila, and Segovia.


For more information:

Castilla y León tourism website