Area: 5321 km²
Population: 535,131 
Capital: Santander

The Autonomous Region of Cantabria is located in the northern Iberian Peninsula, bordering the Cantabrian Sea.   Its territory is bound on the north by the ocean, to the east by the Basque Country, to the south by Castilla y León, and to the west by the Principality of Asturias.  Unlike most other Spanish regions, this one has only a single province.  The temperatures are mild year-round, due to its damp Atlantic climate, throughout most of the region, except for the mountainous inland areas where the thermometer falls below 0º C in winter, with deep snows.

This region can be divided into two distinct geographic areas: the coast and the interior.  The mountainous interior’s most notable natural landmark is the Cantabrian Range, and on the coast, the most striking features are Cape Mayor and Cape Ajo.  The coasts, with their looming cliffs interspersed with coves, also boasts beautiful beaches.  The interior is dominated by the Picos de Europa Mountains, with the highest peak in the region being Pena Vieja, having an altitude of 2613 m.  The geography of the region is dominated by the most important hydrographical vertex in the whole of Spain: Pena Labrada, where the Cantabrian, the Duero and Ebro basins all meet.  Its many well-kept beaches, excellent mountain hiking routes, varied cuisine, natural parks, and important artistic and historic monuments constitute Cantabria’s main tourist attractions.

For more information:
Cantabria Tourism website