Principality of Asturias

Area: 10,504 km²
Population: 1.06 million
Capital: Oviedo

Amongst the artistic wealth of Asturias, highlights include only vestiges of Pre-Romanesque art in the country.  This style is represented by 14 buildings, constructed between the 8th and 10th centuries, which symbolise the birth and development of the Asturian Monarchy, which was the first Christian kingdom on the Iberian Peninsula. 

A third of the region’s territory has been declared Protected Natural Space, including the outstanding Picos de Europa Nature Park, with its many hiking routes.  The region has variety of characteristic dishes, the most famous being fabada, the typical hearty white bean stew of Asturias, with spicy sausage and black pudding.  Other culinary highlights are its large number of cheeses, featuring the widest selection in Spain, with more than 20 officially recognised varieties.  The region has a mild climate year-round, with abundant rains that make Asturias famous for its lush, green landscapes.

For more information:
Asturias Tourism website