Area: 47,698 km²
Population: 1.2 million
Capital: Zaragoza

The region of Aragon includes three provinces, Huesca, Zaragoza and Teruel. The Aragonese Pyrenees offers extraordinary natural attractions, including Ordesa Nature Park, which together with the neighbouring glacial valleys of the French Pyrenees, has been included on the UNESCO World Heritage List.  From the highlands of the Pyrenees to the central plain or the arid lands of Teruel, Aragon’s rich landscape is dotted with the silhouettes of towers and medieval walls.

Mudéjar art, a style born out of the coexistence of Christian, Arab, and Jewish cultures, has its maximum exponent in the city of Teruel.  The cathedral of Zaragoza is one of the region’s leading symbols, and an example of the confluence of various architectural styles.  This city will host Expo 2008.  Aragon is a land of contrasts, with very low temperatures year-round in the High Pyrenees, and extreme temperature fluctuations (high in summer, low in winter) in the rest of its territory.

For more information:
Aragon tourism website